Success!

For the first time ever, I have not fallen off the bandwagon after a big race.

After I ran my first half marathon, I quit exercising for weeks.  Starting up again was a slow, painful process.  The same thing happened after I ran my second.  It’s a horrible feeling – you work so hard, feel so fit, think, “I deserve a break,” and then somehow find yourself in the depths of lazy-land.  I was determined not to let it happen after my marathon, so I drew up a recovery/get-back-on-track plan.  In all honesty, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to stick with it.  As much as I love running, sometimes it’s mentally difficult to get myself out the door.

But I did it!

We’re well into June and I have not only completed the plan, but have consistently been running 4-5 times a week.  The first week or two after the marathon was tough, both mentally and physically, but it’s paid off and I’m looking ahead to summer and fall races.  I’ve found something I want to run almost every month this year, and I think that the mini-goals will help me deal with the stress of moving, oh, halfway across the country.  It’s going to be fun!

This is what’s in store for sure:

July 16 – Wellness Center Run, 5K or 10K (Haven’t decided yet – learning toward the 10K)

August 7 – Bellwood Daze 6 miles (I hate this hot, sweaty run, but my whole family does it every year.  They have really good treats at the end… the homemade kolache and banana almost makes it worth it.)

September 18 – Iron Horse 15K

I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

