Banana Babies

Sometimes I still want to eat when I’m feeling emotional, and Sunday night was one of those times.  I had just finished a long weekend of being a counselor at a summer camp just for kids with a history of abuse and neglect.  When you are part of a normal, healthy family with a normal, healthy life, it can be easy to forget about the foster care system and the children who are in it.  Camp changes all of that.  Spending time with girls who have been hurt in ways that are hardly imaginable – seeing their pain, their resiliency, and the beautiful people they are in spite of what are often very difficult behaviors – has altered the way I see the world, the way I think and the way I believe.  It has given names and faces to God’s heart for those who are orphaned and oppressed.  (More thoughts on that are here.)

So I was on my way home from camp with the weight of it all running through my mind, and when I stopped at the grocery store to pick up a few essentials for the week ahead I decided that what I really needed was some ice cream.  I headed to the freezer section, fully intending to ditch the clean eating in favor of some chocolatey, fill-emotional-holes goodness, when I saw these.

Do frozen treats get much better than this?  (Well, maybe they do – let’s talk about Red Mango sometime.)  But still.  It’s half of a banana, dipped in dark chocolate, and frozen solid.  I expected them to be very hard to bite, but they were not more dense than a typical popsicle, and they were just the right amount of sweetness without feeling heavy.  I’m not the calorie-counting type, but if you’re into that I will tell you that they are a very low-calorie treat and have potassium and fiber and are really healthy for a dessert – the official website has nutrition facts for all their different banana treats.  I am the clean-eating type, so I had to get over the fact that the dark chocolate does contain sugar.  I decided it was worth it.  (I’m not really a stickler.)

I always love discovering healthy sweets, especially if they involve dark chocolate. : )

One thought on “Banana Babies

  1. Thanks from all of us at Diana’s Bananas for giving us a try and for the kind words, we are happy that you found us and that we were able to indulge your sweet tooth. You should be very proud of the work that you do, and we are proud to be a part of your healthy lifestyle. Keep up the good work.
    Best,
    Susan Burns
    Social Media Manager, Diana’s Bananas

Leave a Reply

